Fried Pickles

Fried Pickles as Served at the Texas Roadhouse

Fried Pickles as Served at the Texas Roadhouse

Since moving to the U.S., I have missed plenty of Austrian but also Czech dishes and am usually not too happy with the American renditions of those dishes that do exist here (yes, I am looking at you sauerkraut). But by now there are also plenty of American dishes that I would miss. One of my absolute favorites is fried pickles; it is ingenious – dill pickles are great to begin with, but fried they are pretty much heavenly. Fried pickles are exactly what they sound like – sliced and battered dill pickles that are fried in hot oil and then served with a dipping sauce such as Ranch. Since my husband hates pickles in any form – fried or not, this is also one of the appetizers that I definitely do not have to share during a dinner out.

My favorite local version of the dish is served at the Texas Roadhouse chain restaurant, which also offers another favorite – peanuts. Since I very rarely like the bread served in the U.S. (too soft, too fluffy, too white), I am excited that the restaurant offers peanuts in addition to the obligatory free restaurant bread that I usually just ignore anyways. Between the free peanuts and the addictive fried pickles, I have a nearly perfect meal; add a couple of beers, and I do not even need the steak when we eat out at this steakhouse (yes, I am a cheap date).

Peanuts are great as appetizer, snack, with beer, and in between courses.

Peanuts are great as appetizer, snack, with beer, and in between courses.

The following recipe for fried pickles is based on the recipe from Betty Crocker and works well. I also like that the site does not offer any nutrition information for the fried pickles – it would just ruin a perfectly fine food.

  • 1 32-oz jar of dill pickle slices/chips; drained
  • 1 cup of buttermilk
  • 2 tablespoons of hot sauce (or less/more according to taste)
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup yellow cornmeal
  • 2 tablespoons of Cajun seasoning (or less/more according to taste)
  • vegetable oil for deep frying
  • 2 teaspoons of salt
  1. Pat pickles dry with paper towels. In a shallow bowl (I would call it a Suppenteller in German), mix 1 cup of buttermilk and the hot sauce. In another shallow bowl, mix the flour, cornmeal, and Cajun seasoning.
  2. In a heavy saucepan, heat 2 to 3 inches of oil to about 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Dip the pickles in the buttermilk  mixture; then dip them in the flour mixture to coat them. Work in small batches to fry pickles about 2-3 minutes or until golden brown. Drain on paper towels. Sprinkle with salt and serve them warm with a dipping sauce such as Ranch.
  3. Try not to eat the whole batch on your own.
The floor at the restaurant is covered in peanut shells.

The floor at the restaurant is covered in peanut shells.

