Proud Gold Country

Hood Ornament in the California Gold Country

Hood Ornament in the California Gold Country

I have decided to add a new theme for my postings from time to time: oddities and/or small details that caught my attention. Some could also be called “Why-do-people-do-this??!” The first oddity that I felt warranted a blog posting is the hood ornament I came across in a restaurant parking lot not far from Sacramento, CA.

I was outside the restaurant and saying bye to my group of brunch mates when the hood ornament caught my attention out of the corner of my eye. When I was scanning the parking lot, I was not sure what the ornament was actually depicting ( a figurine doing what?), but a closer look from the front showed it was “just” a gold panner. Still an odd choice since the ornament clearly did not originally come with the car, but a gold panner made a little bit more sense for a region with a history shaped by gold. I still wonder though what the reason for this choice was: is the driver a hobby gold panner, a history buff, a proud Gold Country resident? And if I ever feel the need for a hood ornament, what would I choose?

