Beef Sticker

Eat Beef Sticker

Eat Beef Sticker

I came across the above sticker at the regional county fair outside the rodeo arena. The stand promoted eating beef and most likely was associated with a beef association/council since the saying “Eat Beef – The West Wasn’t Won on Salad” is usually contributed to a beef association in the West. The saying for me does conjure images of weary cowboys driving cattle over miles of grass land and resting by a camp fire after a long day and then eating beef chilli. But the more I think I about the slogan, the less sense it makes: Who would ever claim that salad was at all involved in winning the West so why contradict this? Was the West really WON? And if yes, by whom? And winning goes hand in hand with losing – so who lost the West and do you really want to point out that someone lost it in this slogan?

Maybe I am overthinking a rather straightforward slogan, but I am also surprised that such campaigns/slogans supposedly work or at least are meant to convince someone. I love eating beef (I also do not mind salads with the exception of iceberg lettuce) but the slogan is not going to convince me to eat more or less beef. The sticker, however, did make me stop, pause, take a photo, and write about it, so maybe it did all it was designed to do…

