Wild Side

Turkeys in the Driveway

Turkeys in the Driveway

The drought in California in combination with urban sprawl has forced many wild animals to venture into suburban streets and backyards even in broad daylight. Recently, a neighbor found a rattlesnake in the flower bed of her front yard (I was wearing flipflops and thus was too chicken to get up close and take a picture), another neighbor chased a raccoon onto the roof of a shed, and at night we can hear coyote howl.

Raccoon

Raccoon

We have seen turkeys, deer, and mountain lions in the underbrush along the river behind our house, but now the turkeys have also decided to walk up and down our street in broad daylight. Last week, I came home to a flock of turkeys marching through our front yard and hanging out in the neighbor’s driveway. They did not mind me stopping the car to take some pictures, but when I got out and tried to get closer, they moved on without much alarm. They seemed to be used to city life as they stayed on the sidewalk or in front yards all the way down the street.

Flock of Turkeys in Suburbia

Flock of Turkeys in Suburbia

I am always excited and entertained when I see wild animals that I am not used to from Europe, and that includes turkeys. I usually have to smile when I smell a skunk (but I have been told that I would no longer find skunks amusing once I get sprayed by one, which has not happened yet), I and am happy to see that the neighborhood possum is still around and traveling atop the backyard privacy fence to avoid the dogs.

Possum

Possum

Turkeys Usually Stay Hidden

Turkeys Usually Stay Hidden in the Undeveloped Areas by the River

