Brown over Green

Azure Skies and Golden Hills

Azure skies over golden hills in late summer in Northern California

Even though we received a little bit of rain in California this week, the rainy season – if it even comes this year – is still several weeks away. In the meantime, I have gotten used to the golden hills as well as the brown front lawns. When I see pictures of people outside in the Midwest or in Europe, I am always surprised by the green grass in the photos; it seems fake, unrealistic, and just flat out odd. The color just does not feel right; grass is not meant to be green after May.

Signs explain why front yards are no longer artificially green.

Signs explain why front yards are no longer artificially green.

I have not only become used to the grass turning golden but actually have started to appreciate the view. Azure, royal-blue skies are stretching over golden hills dotted with the dark green boughs of California oaks – this is the view that for me beats all the green rolling hills that I have been accustomed to in the past in Europe. And even if we do receive enough rain this winter to end the California drought, I know that I can look forward to golden hills glistening in the sun in this Mediterranean climate come May.

The grass starts to turn brown in late spring in California.

The grass starts to turn brown in late spring in California.

