Lemon-Goat Cheese Pasta

I have never thought of myself as a pasta lover/fan and I usually avoid pasta in the U.S. It is just too much of the same taste with each bite for me and I get bored of the taste and consistency quickly. So I was excited to start tasting the food in Italy, where pasta is not a main dish and definitely not the only dish for a meal as I am used to from the U.S. (adding bread sticks does not help, Olive Garden). Here the pasta portions are smaller and are followed by a meat dish most likely. I can get on bored with that.

In addition, pasta is a lot more varied than tomato sauce with or without meat or the white creamy white sauce offered in mainstream American restaurants. For example, I had a lasagne that did not include any tomatoes but a thick brown sauce and radicchio and meat in between the layers of pasta.

Browsing through the English-language newspaper The Florentine this week, I cam across an intriguing pasta recipe: quick, cheap, and unusual. It is Lemon-Goat Cheese Pasta. The sauce is an interesting combination of lemony tartness and creamy cheese. So if you like tart and sour and/or are a little adventurous, this might be for you:

Recipe for 2:

  • 250g or 9oz fresh tagliolini or linguine pasta (I took whatever I had at hand, which is not the Italian custom)
  • Zest and juice of 1 organic lemon
  • 50g or 3.5 tbsp of butter
  • 1 tbsp of olive oil
  • 50g or 2oz of creamy goat cheese (caprino) [I actually added a little more since the package was 80g and I did not know what to do with the rest and the sauce worked out]
  • Parmesan cheese
  • Salt and pepper
  • Optional: Parsley

 

FullSizeRender_1

Some of the key ingredients for the recipe. I went cheap and bought the store-brand fresh pasta.

Fresh pasta does not take long to cook, so I recommend getting the water boiling while preparing the sauce and then cooking the pasta just when the sauce is already done.

Place the butter and olive oil in a wide pan over medium heat. Once the butter has melted, add the lemon zest and cook for a minute while stirring (do not burn). Add the lemon juice and let simmer for a minute. Add the goat cheese and let it melt into a sauce. If it seems too thick, add a few spoonfuls of the pasta water. Season with salt and pepper.

Add the cooked pasta and toss in the sauce to coat. If it seems dry, add a little more of the pasta water. Garnish with chopped parsley and add Parmesan cheese.

This recipe is from The Florentine, but I changed some of the directions based on my experience with this recipe (for example, the original adds a lot more water, which made the sauce too runny for my taste).

FullSizeRender_2

Pasta with lemon and goat cheese (pretty sure I chose the wrong pasta shape)

The pasta is tangy and light, and I finally know what I can do with all the lemons in my California backyard next winter. I have been talking about this recipe to so many people around here and handed out paper copies of the one published in the newspaper that I decided that it makes sense to add it to the blog.

Who needs cream or tomato for fresh pasta sauce!

