Street Sign Art in Florence

It is easy to get one’s fill of marble statues and bronzes of mythological figures and saints and portrayals of the Virgin Mary in Florence. I have been here only a little more than a week and I have seen a lot of them – and they are gorgeous and awe-inspiring, so don’t get me wrong, but sometimes it is nice to see variety. So the street sign art by Clet Abraham throughout Florence has caught my eye, made me smile, and made my walks even more entertaining. Now I can keep an eye out for impressive buildings and humorous signs on my walks.

It did not take me long to learn online that the artist is Clet Abraham, a French artist, who has been using stickers to improve street signs across Europe it seems (I have only seen them in Florence so far).

Here are a few of my favorites – enjoy. Also, if you are interested to see the artist at work and view more of his art, check out this video (it is in French but the gist is clear even if you do not understand French).

I just noticed based on my photo collection that there seem to be a lot of no-entry signs in Florence.

Do you have a favorite?

4 thoughts on “Street Sign Art in Florence

Comments are closed.